Federal Skilled Trades Class

Federal Skilled Trades Class (FSTC)

The Federal Skilled Trades class is one of the federal economic immigration programs designed for qualified, experienced tradespersons from around the world who want to become permanent residents of Canada.

Prior to 2015, Federal Skilled Trades applications were managed on a first-come, first-served basis. However, since 2015 applications are processed under the Express Entry system.


In order to qualify under Federal Skilled Trades Program, candidates must:

  • have at least 2 years of full-time work experience or an equal amount of part-time work experience in a skilled trade within the last 5 years;
  • have a valid full-time LMIA approved offer of employment for a period of at least 1 year or hold a certificate of qualification in that skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial, territorial or federal authority;
  • meet the required English and/or French language proficiency level for each language ability (speaking, reading, listening, and writing). The required minimum English proficiency levels are Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 5 for speaking and listening, and CLB 4 for reading and writing; whereas the required minimum French proficiency levels are Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadien (NCLC) 5 for Speaking and listening and NCLC 4 for Reading and writing; and
  • meet the job requirements for eligible skilled trade occupation under the National Occupational Classification (NOC), except for needing a certificate of qualification

The Federal Skilled Trades Class process

Step 1: Ensure you fulfill all eligibility criteria

Step 2: Create an Express Entry profile

Step 3: Receive an invitation to apply (ITA) for permanent residence

Step 4: Complete a medical exam with an IRCC-recognized panel physician & provide police clearance certificate and submit an e-application

Step 5: Receive confirmation of permanent resident status and reach Canada